top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUofSC IPHE

Mike Mewborne (Geography)

Updated: Mar 28, 2019



March 10-17, 2019

Day 1: Today was a good

travel day, with nice weather

and flights. Jerry, Val, and I

drove up and found offsite

parking in CLT complete

with shuttle to the airport.

Several of us talked over a

small snack and mojitos in

Miami. We landed late in

Bogota and I immediately

noticed the altitude made it

harder to breathe. We were

at roughly 8.4k feet above

sea level; much higher than I

have ever been, outside of

an airplane. Our group had

a little trouble staying

together through the airport

but we made it.

Day 2: Our morning was

spent walking the old city of

bogota. Hard not to fall in

love with Colombia when

hearing its history from a

native. Our local guide,

Adriana has such passion for

the country and the city. We

Walked from “the river” up

into graffiti covered hills

then down into the old city.

Botero museo was

interesting. The Sun came

out and burned my bald

head. Searching for ATMs

was annoying . Jerry, Laura,

and I ate tamales at puenta

falsa like Bourdain. It was

Very homey; thick, savory,

not very spicy. UniAndes

has a beautiful campus.

They are Starting a

geography program. Hard

not to commit on the spot to

partnering with them, but I

know thereʼs a level of work

and commitment there that

might not be ready yet on

my end. I am new to all of

this. Bus ride home made

me car sick. Dinner at

Andres DC was... a lot.

Loud, bright, many senses

engaged. I felt sick. I was

named table king with

Valeria as queen. I usually

hate that stuff but obliged

and it was actually pretty

fun. The ridiculous of it all

made for good team

building. Itʼs odd feeling so

far away from home when

you feel just a little sick. The

city is very cosmopolitan.

Saw much more poverty,

homelessness today than

yesterday. All in all, a great

experience- you should go

to Bogota!

Day 3: I didnʼt make it on the

bus this morning. Persistent

nausea. Read online and

talked to a friend who visited

a while back and I think itʼs

altitude sickness. I Went to

a coffee shop for coffee

(diuretic) and toast (carbs)

and then a comic book

store. The coffee and toast

and water made me feel a bit

better. The comic book

store was a bust; everything

was in English! I feel good

enough to get up and

around but definitely not

great.

By late afternoon I was

feeling better. Rest and

water were helpful. I felt like

I let the team down by not

being with them but was

also crazy bored here at the

hotel. I wanted to rest so I

didnʼt explore much but did

notice tree-lined European

style boulevards, a colonial

relic no doubt, while walking

around. I also worked on my

Spanish on my app and

through one on one

interactions with

shopkeepers. People get

sick on this trip so I need to

stay behind. Itʼs important to

have protocols in place. Itʼs

also good for individuals to

experience the place on

their own, as much as it is

safe to do so.

By the evening I was feeling

much better! Went out to

eat with Jerry, Valeria,

Candace, and Laura. We

had the wine made at the

winery in Chile Jerry would

have taken us too. There

was a conversation about

being black in a city that,

while diverse, still leaves

that population as a smaller

minority than even in US.

Our own group is fairly

diverse, certainly with a

larger black population.

Being in a foreign country,

being a non-speaker, in all

the ways one can be a

minority, it can be very

tough. Being white in

America comes with many

privileges. Traveling opens

your eyes to the experiences

of others, not just abroad,

but even at home.

Day 4: This was a very early

morning bus ride to the

airport. Flew to Medellín. I

missed my wife and two

daughters very much.

I thought I was feeling better

but the bus ride made me

nauseated.

The plane ride left me in a

much better place, in many

senses. The pressurized

cabin, the lower elevation of

Medellín.

Train ride, cable car,

escalators... we did it all

today. And we saw poverty

on a scale I had not yet

witnessed. It was interesting

to see a city invest in such

poor areas with means of

transportation and tourist

draws- giving infrastructure,

on some scale, to their

poorest rather than

continuing to ignore them.

And these areas had a

beauty to them. We had

mango pops in salted lime

juice and looked at graffiti

and watched street

performers under a blue sky

with a nice breeze. And still

it felt wrong. Like we were

slum tourists. I have many

questions about wealth,

privilege, mobility... the

ethics of tourism. Today

was truly life-changing in a

way that will likely take time

to fully realize. Dinner with

friends for now, and

conversations with

colleagues. Hopefully I will

turn my privileges into good

for others.

Day 5:

(Notes: Pablo and Botero

Calle vs Carrera = EW/NS,

opposite in bogota and

Medellin)

We discussed the history of

violence today from both left

and right wings as well as

criminals and politicians. It

put the areas we saw

yesterday into more

perspective. This place felt

so simple, so 2 dimensional,

but is so complex.

Botero sculptures and art

are growing on me. I had

delicious coffee from the

region. The paisa plate with

so much meat and carbs

made me sick in the heat

and hurry, but the flavors

were so good- truly unique!

The coconut limonade was

delicious. The campus tour

was brief but interesting:

lots of left wing movements

as evidenced in graffiti,

some of which was anti

American involvement in

South America. There was

an art exhibit with guitars

each made to reflect an

emotion with a piece of

music to accompany each...

and the artist was there

performing them on piano!

Santiʼs music

recommendations: Petite

fellas, DJ Quantic.

Day 6: Iʼm typing reflections

on the flight to Cartagena

where it is supposed to be

sunny and hot! I feel much

better than I have all trip but

I am not confident that I

wonʼt experience some kind

of relapse. No more

university visits ahead.

Medellin was such a

challenging, pleasant,

wonderful, growth

experiences. My

stereotypes were

challenged, and my

thoughts on violence/peace,

community/isolation,

tourism/invasion... so many

contradictions put into

deeper perspective. Santi

was a great tour guide and

felt like a friend, and seemed

to be a friend to everyone he

met. The food was good,

the people were kind, my

thoughts were spiraling. I

hope to return to this city

someday. I had not

considered some kind of

trip/course for preservice

teachers to learn history,

geography, economics, and

education in the field. I feel

like I simultaneously have a

better understanding and

more questions now than at

the start of the trip. Much

like getting my masters

degree! Teachers should

have that experience, too.

To increase understanding,

to be humbled by their lack

thereof, and to spark a

hunger for more. I am

hungry for more. Although

maybe Iʼll take it easy on the

food until I feel completely

better. Itʼs hard not to

indulge while youʼre here; to

soak it all in. Itʼs a lot. Itʼs

wonderful. Iʼm tired and

inspired. Travel challenges

all, and I hope that my

broader horizons can be carried to my friends,

family, colleagues, future students, etc.

Iʼm grateful for this opportunity.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page